Liverpool Strengthened by 24 Players in the Premier League, Only Seven Local Players – 1NEWS

  • Share
Liverpool Strengthened by 24 Players in the Premier League, Only Seven Local Players – Liverpool confirm there are 24 players in their Premier League squad this season, and only seven of them are local players.

After the summer transfer window ends, clubs must include their squad lists at the start of the 2021/22 season this month.

And, there will be no last-minute changes in Jurgen Klopp’s squad, with only Ibrahima Konate coming to Anfield at the end of May – one week after the 2020/21 season ended.

The full complement of 25 players should include eight local players, but with only 24 players registered by Liverpool this season, they have only registered seven local players.

Those local players include Nat Phillips – who ended up staying at Anfield despite being tipped to leave in the recent transfer window, having signed a new long-term contract.

Two of Jurgen Klopp’s key players Jordan Henderson and Trent Alexander-Arnold are also part of the local group of seven, as are Joe Gomez and James Milner.

Liverpool have surprisingly given Loris Karius a place in their squad this season, while Harvey Elliott has been named in the Under-21 squad – and this stands in stark contrast to the squad Klopp has prepared for the Champions League.

The likes of Curtis Jones, Kaide Gordon, Billy Koumetio, Marcelo Pitaluga, Neco Williams and Mateusz Musialowski are also on the list of the Under-21 team. Thus, the Reds cannot make changes to their squad until January 2022.

At the beginning of this season, the Reds have bagged two wins and a draw. They won 0-3 at home to promoted team, Norwich City, then won 2-0 over Burnley in the second match.

Unfortunately, Liverpool only bagged a 1-1 draw against Chelsea, although the visitors were only 10 men after Reece James was sent off late in the first half. As a result, the Reds are ranked fifth with a collection of seven points.

Here is Liverpool’s Premier League squad, as reported by

Goalkeeper: Alisson, Caoimhin Kelleher*, Adrian, Loris Karius;

defender: Virgil van Dijk, Trent Alexander-Arnold*, Joe Gomez*, Ibrahima Konate, Joel Matip, Nat Phillips*, Andy Robertson, Kostas Tsimikas;

Midfielder: Thiago, Jordan Henderson*, Fabinho, Naby Keita, James Milner*, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain*;

Attacker: Roberto Firmino, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Diogo Jota, Takumi Minamino, Divock Origi.

Under-21 Team: Harvey Elliott, Curtis Jones, Nat Williams, Kaide Gordon, Billy Koumetio, Marcelo Pitaluga, Beck, Musialowski.

* Local players

  • Share

Leave a Reply