Indonesia vs Myanmar SEA Games 2021 Results: Defeat White Angels Garuda Squad Advances to Semi-Finals – 1NEWS

  • Share

The results of Indonesia vs Myanmar in the final match of the Group A phase of the 2021 SEA Games which was held at the Viet Tri Stadium, Sunday (15/5) afternoon, closed with a score of 3-1.

Crazy Ball – The Garuda squad managed to secure a ticket to the semi-finals of the Hanoi SEA Games after defeating Myanmar today.

Indonesia, which only needed a draw against Myanmar, managed to beat the team under the care of the Bulgarian coach, Velizar Emilov Popov, with a convincing score of 3-1.

Indonesia appeared confident in this match, especially after scoring two goals in the first 10 minutes of the match, Indonesia closed the match in the first half with a score of 3-0. Unfortunately, goalkeeper Ernando Ari failed to keep a clean sheet after Myanmar star, Win Naing Tun, managed to take advantage of the Garuda squad’s slack back line and minimized Myanmar’s defeat to 3-1 in 67 minutes.

Myanmar is Indonesia’s closest competitor on the Group A standings, because Myanmar and the Garuda squad both have six points. With this victory, Indonesia temporarily climbed to the top of the group standings, shifting the hosts Vietnam – who will only play against Timor Leste tonight, and pocketed nine points.

Shin Tae-yong’s team tried to push forward from the start, and their efforts paid off when Egy Maulana Vikri netted the ball in the 6th minute. At that time, Egy’s shot hit the opposing player until it changed direction and brought the Garuda squad to a 1-0 lead at the start of the match. GOAL!

Only four minutes later, precisely in the 10th minute, Witan Sulaeman managed to take advantage of the pass back heel Asnawi Mangkualam and doubled Indonesia’s goal collection to 2-0. GOAL!

Egy almost added to Indonesia’s goal collection when he tried to welcome Marc Klok’s corner. However, FK Senica’s header just bounced over the Myanmar goal.

GOAL CANCELED! Myanmar had scored the ball against Ernando Ari in minute 28 through the action of their star, Win Naing Tun. However, the referee disallowed the goal for offside.

Entering the final minutes of the first half, the appearance of the Indonesian defense seemed to decline until several times it was under pressure from the opposing team. Luckily none of the opportunities they managed to complete.

In the 45+2 injury period, the Indonesian squad managed to increase their goal collection to 3-0 shortly after a corner from the Garuda squad was blocked by the Myanmar players with a header, which unfortunately made the ball fall right at the feet of Marselino Ferdinand.

Without thinking he immediately grabbed the ball and netted it into the Myanmar goal from outside the penalty box. GOAL!! The results of Indonesia vs Myanmar in the first round were closed 3-0.

Entering the 60th minute, the Indonesian goal was burglarized almost three times by Myanmar players. Luckily, two of the opponent’s opportunities went wide from Ernando’s goal, while another opportunity was secured by the Persebaya goalkeeper.

The onslaught by Myanmar finally paid off in the 67th minute, when Win Naing Tun’s shot nestled in the Indonesian goal. GOAL! The score was changed to 3-1.

Indonesia’s turn should be able to add to the collection of goals when the game began to enter the 75th minute. However, Irfan Jauhari’s two opportunities that should have taken Indonesia away from the opponent’s pursuit did not produce additional goals.

Ronaldo Kwateh almost added to Indonesia’s goal collection in the 89th minute. Unfortunately, Ronaldo’s two chances right in front of the Myanmar goal failed to nest in the opponent’s goal.


Indonesia U-23: Ernando Ari; Asnawi Mangkualam, Rizky Ridho, Fachruddin Aryanto, Alfeandra Dewangga; Marc Klok, Marcelino Ferdinand; Egy Maulana Vikri, Witan Sulaeman, Ricky Kambuaya; Irfan Jauhari.

Coach: Shin Tae-yong

Myanmar U-23 National Team: Pyae Phyo Thu; Hien Zeyar Lin, Soe Moe Kyaw, Thet Hein Soe, Lwin Moe Aung, Myat Kaung Khant, Htet Phyoe Wai, Win Naing Tun, Ye Lin Htet, Aung Wunna Soe, Zaw Win Thein.

Coach: Velizar Emilov Popov